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Governor Ducey Signs into Law - Professional
Licensing with Universal Recognition

AMB Accepting Applications Beginning on
August 27, 2019



Governor Doug Ducey joined by Arizona legislators, members of the
business community and many more, signed H.B. 2569, making
Arizona the first state in the country to recognize occupational licenses
for new residents.

“With this bill, Arizona’s sending a clear message to people across the
country: if you’re moving to Arizona, there's opportunity waiting for
you here,” said Governor Ducey.

“There’s dignity in all work. And we know that whether you make your
living as a plumber, a barber, a nurse or anything else, you don’t lose
your skills simply because you moved here. The bill we signed today
protects public health and safety while eliminating unnecessary and
costly red tape. It’s an Arizona original and should be a model for
other states for how to work together and do the things that matter. My
thanks to Representative Petersen for sponsoring this important
legislation and to the many people who helped make this first-in-the-
nation reform possible.”

Facts About the New License Application
As amended, A.R.S. § 32-4302(A) provides that a person shall be
granted an occupational or professional license in the same discipline
and at the same practice level if the person meets established
residency in Arizona. The AMB recognizes that there may be a
number of different ways a person may try to demonstrate they
established residency in the State.

The application process for those seeking a reciprocity license will not
require the production of primary source credentials.

In order to be eligible, an applicant may not have had a license
revoked or voluntarily surrendered while under investigation for
unprofessional conduct.

Prior disciplinary action against a license will not disqualify the
applicant for licensure if the Board finds the cause for the action has
been corrected and resolved.

​An applicant who has a pending investigation in another state will have
the application suspended until the matter is resolved.



Receive Notice of a CME Audit?
Here are Some Tips

When you receive notice that the AMB is auditing your continuing
medical education (CME), there are some key points to keep in mind:

In order to maintain a valid medical license in the State of
Arizona, per Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) R4-16-102,
licensees are required to complete at least forty (40) hours of
CME in the two calendar years preceding their renewal. 

 
Please refer to Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S.) 32-1434,
A.R.S. 32.3248.02 and A.A.C. R4-16-102 to
identify statutorily approved CME activities. 

  
Effective 4/26/18, All MD's with a valid DEA registration number
who are renewing a license are required to complete 3 hours of
CME related to the safe prescribing of opioids as part of the total
40 hours. 

Your Profession Needs YOU
Consider Becoming a Medical Consultant

The physician community needs physicians to review cases for the
AMB as outside medical consultants ("OMCs"). OMCs are
professionals who receive a stipend and may be eligible for continuing
medical education credits for their review of cases.

We need Arizona licensed physicians in ALL specialties, but there
is presently a high need for the following:

Addiction Medicine  
Pain Management

Pain Medicine
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation 



Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
Psychiatry

Medical Genetics
Correctional Health

Critical Care
Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics

Diagnostic Radiologists

Please contact our OMC Coordinators via email at: OMC@azmd.gov

Executive Director Patricia McSorley Receives Honor
at Administrators In Medicine Annual Meeting

In April this year, at the
Administrators in Medicine
("AIM") Annual Meeting,
Executive Director ("ED")
Patricia McSorley received
the "Doug Cerf Executive
Director's Award." Previously
known as the "Executive
Directors Award", this Award
was renamed in 1997 to
honor the memory of
Douglas Nelson Cerf (1947-
1994), Past President of AIM
and former ED of the
Arizona State Board of
Medical Examiners.

This honor was special to
Ms. McSorley for two
reasons: first, the nomination

came from her staff at the AMB and second, the award is named after
a former AMB ED who exemplified excellence in the field of medical
board regulation. Congratulations ED McSorley! (pictured, from left: Diana
Shepard from AIM and ED McSorley)

mailto:OMC@azmd.gov


AMB Sunset Review

The AMB successfully completed its statutorily prescribed
sunset review in FY19. The report from the Arizona Auditor
General to the Legislature was favorable. The Legislature
agreed and approved the Agency’s continuation for the
maximum allowable, eight years, until July 1, 2027.

Physician, Did You Know this Law Applies to Your
License?

Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S.) § 32-3208 (A)

A health professional, (MD), who does not comply with the
notification requirements commits an act of unprofessional
conduct, and may be fined a civil penalty of not more than
$1000.

A list of Reportable Misdemeanors is linked here from the AMB
website for your convenience

Upcoming Important Dates to Remember

Special Teleconference Meeting

September 12th beginning at 6:00 pm

via telephone - see azmd.gov for more details

Regular Session Board Meetings

Held in person at 1740 W Adams, Phoenix,and via streaming video at

https://azmd.gov/Regulation/Regulation#


www.azmd.gov

October 7 and 8, beginning at 8:00 am


