
Frequently Asked Questions 

Initial and Endorsement License 

 Application and license fees 
 

1. Q:  Why am I required to pay an application fee and a license fee? 
A:  An application fee is required to review and process your application for licensure.  A 
      license fee is required to issue the license once your application is approved.  The 
      license fee is prorated up to $500 and is based on your birth year and month. 
 

2. Q:  Can I submit my application to the Board before I pay the $500 application fee? 
A:  No, if you submit your application without the $500 application fee, your application 
      will be returned.   
 

3. Q:  If I decide that I no longer need a license in Arizona or I do not submit the 
      requested documents or information within the time frame given by the Board, 
      will my application fee be refunded? 
A:  No, the application fee is forfeited if you withdraw your application or if your 
      application is withdrawn by the Board because the requested information or  
      documents were not submitted within the time frame allowed according to 
      Arizona Revised Statutes and Rules. 
 

4. Q:  Once my application is granted, how long will I have to pay the prorated license 
       fee? 
A:  You will be given 30 days to pay the prorated license fee from the date your license  
       was approved.  
 

 Practice, Home, Mailing and email Address 
 
1. Q:  I do not want my personal information, such as my home and mailing address to 

      be released to the public.  Do I have to provide this information? 
A:  Your practice address will appear in the Medical Directory and on the Board’s 
      website. Every physician must have an address available to the public.  If only one 
      address is provided, even if it is your home address, it will be available to the public 
      upon request.  If you want your home address to be listed as your practice address 
      on the Board’s website, indicate this by including your home address in the practice 
      address field.  You are required to provide a home address, telephone number and 
      email address.  Your home address and telephone number will not be released to 
      the public unless you fail to provide an office address.  Your email address will not 
      be released to the public.  Communication from the Board is sent primarily to your 
      email address.  



 
2. Q:  I have just relocated my family to Arizona, how long do I have to change my home 

       address? 
A:  You must update your information within 30 days from the date of change.  If your 
      practice, home, mailing and email information is not updated within 
      30 days from the date of change, you may be assessed a $100 fine.  
 

 Fingerprint cards for the purpose of obtaining  state and federal criminal records check: 
 

1. Q:  Who is required to submit a fingerprint card? 
A:  An applicant who is applying for an Initial or Endorsement license, Locum Tenens 
      License, or Teaching License.  
 

2. Q:  Can I submit any fingerprint card to the Arizona Medical Board? 
A:   No, the fingerprint card is specific and pre-printed for the Board; therefore, the  
       applicant must use the fingerprint card provided by the Board.  
 

3. Q:  How can I acquire a fingerprint card from the Board? 
A:  A fingerprint packet will be sent to the mailing address provided on your application 
      within 24 hours of receipt of your application to the Board.  
 

4. Q:  Once I receive a fingerprint card, where can I get my fingerprints done? 
A:  Fingerprinting can be done at a local police department, sheriff’s office, or an entity 
      that provides fingerprinting services.  Please contact the entity that provides the 
      fingerprint service to confirm availability and payment requirements.  
 

5. Q:  Can I submit a fingerprint card prior to submitting my application to the Board? 
A:   No, please do not submit a fingerprint card prior to the submission of your 
       application.  Your fingerprint card and fee will be rejected if you submit your 
       fingerprint card before you submit your application.   
 

6.  Q:   Is there an additional fee to process my fingerprint card? 
     A:   Yes, the applicant is required to return the fingerprint card along with a check or  

             money order for $50 made out to “Arizona Medical Board”.   
 
7. Q:  Will I be provided detailed instructions on how to submit my fingerprint card? 

A:   Yes, the fingerprint packet includes specific instructions for you and the fingerprint 
       technician to follow.  Failure to properly follow the instructions will cause a delay in 
       the process and may require resubmission of your fingerprints.  
 

8. Q:  If I have been fingerprinted in the past for the purpose of a background check or  
      currently have a  fingerprint clearance card, do I still need to submit a fingerprint 



      card to the Board? 
A:  Yes, you are required to submit a new fingerprint card to the Board for licensure.  
 

9. Q:  Once I have submitted my fingerprint card, processing fee and form in a sealed 
      envelope with the technician’s signature across the seal, how long will it take to 
      process my fingerprints?  
A:  It can take up to 6 weeks for your fingerprint card to be processed from the date it is 
      received by the Board.   
 

10. Q:  I have already submitted fingerprints to the Board; however, I have just received 
         another fingerprint packet from the Board with a letter indicating that my 
         fingerprints will have to be redone.  Why do I have to resubmit another set of 
         fingerprints? 
   A:  The Board will send you a second fingerprint packet if the first set of fingerprints 
         require a redo.  There are many reasons why fingerprints may need to be redone.  
         The best way to ensure that your fingerprints do not have to be redone is to make 
         sure that you and the fingerprint technician follow the instructions provided with the 
         packet.  

 


